Contact Us     We Can Help    Call 800-827-0087



California Truck Accidents HomeCalifornia Trucking DistrictsCalifornia Truck Accident News

According to the Department of Transportation (DOT), millions of commercial trucks (about 4.3 percent of all highway vehicles) move goods over the national transportation network each year. This volume of commercial vehicles presents a problem for motorists who must share congested highways with those trucks, which are variously referred to as big rigs, semis, semi-trailer trucks, tractor trailers or 18-wheelers.

Caltrans California Department of Transportation Caltrans District 1
District 1 is headquartered in Eureka, and includes the counties of Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, and Mendocino. These counties are in the northernmost part of California and exist along the coast. Highway 101 travels through District 1 and is the “lifeline of the North Coast.”

Caltrans District 2
District 2 is headquartered in Redding, California and is the second largest district (area) in the state. This district includes an exceedingly rural district containing counties of Lassen, Modoc, Plumas, Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama, and Trinity Counties.

Caltrans District 3

District 3 is headquartered in Marysville, California and includes 11 counties containing 1,410 centerline miles and 4,700 lane miles. Centerline miles represent the total length of a given road from its starting point to its end point. Lane miles are calculated by multiplying the centerline mileage of a road by the number of lanes it has.

Caltrans District 4
District 4 is headquartered in Oakland, California and consists of Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San Mateo, San Francisco, Santa Clara, Solano and Sonoma Counties. District 4 has more state highways than any other California transportation district.

Caltrans District 5
District 5 is headquartered in San Luis Obispo, California and is made up of Central Coast counties such as Santa Barbara, San Luis Obispo, Monterey, San Benito and Santa Cruz Counties. It includes Highway 101, which is one of three major arteries connecting Northern California and Southern California.

Caltrans District 6
District 6 is headquartered in Fresno, California and is the second largest of the 12 Districts. This district stretches from the southernmost part of Yosemite National Park in the north to the Mojave Desert. Interstate 5 and State Route 99 run the length of District 6.

Caltrans District 7
District 7 is headquartered in Los Angeles. This district has the second largest workforce of the 12 Caltrans districts. Between 2005 and 2009, the CHP recorded 291 fatal big rig crashes in District 7, making it California’s most dangerous transportation district involving large truck accidents.

Caltrans District 8
District 8 is headquartered in San Bernardino and includes Riverside and San Bernardino Counties. This district has the busiest highway in California, based on average daily traffic, Interstate 10. It also includes Interstate 40 and 15 and one of the highest passes in the state, which is Route 38, near Big Bear Lake.

Caltrans District 9
District 9 is headquartered in Bishop, California and encompasses both Inyo and Mono Counties. This district has the lowest point in California and the U.S.; Badwater in Death Valley, at an elevation of 282 feet below sea level, and the highest point in the state; Mt. Whitney at an elevation of 14,495 feet.

Caltrans District 10
District 10 is headquartered in Stockton, California and serves eight central valley counties, including Alpine, Amador, Calaveras, Mariposa, Merced, San Joaquin, Stanislaus and Tuolumne Counties. Over 95 percent of all fatal tractor trailer crashes between 2005 and 2009 took place in these three counties alone.

Caltrans District 11
District 11 is headquartered in San Diego, California and includes Imperial and San Diego Counties. It spans the entire California-Mexico Border from the Pacific coast to Arizona. California’s top port of entry for international trade truck crossings, Otay Mesa, lies in District 11.

Caltrans District 12

District 12 is headquartered in Irvine, California and encompasses the entirety of Orange County. It is the smallest district in the state yet it has a highway (part of Interstate 5) that produces more fatal crashes per year than any other stretch of highway in the state.